NBA Olympians should be paid?

Earlier this week,  Heat guard Dwyane Wade said he agreed with Celtics guard Ray Allen that NBA Olympians should be paid.

Wade said there is a big time commitment that goes along with being on the national team. An ESPN articles says that teams that make deep runs in the playoffs could have only a couple of weeks between the end of the season and the start of the national team’s training camp.

One of the reasons behind Wade’s comments was the increased sale of jerseys during the Olympics. Allen, whose comments started this discussion, told FoxSports.com that an acceptable compromise would be if there was profit sharing from the sale of Olympic game jerseys.

Wade agreed with that, but acknowledged that may not be fair because not every player would get the same amount.

Wade’s comments, more so than Allen’s, got the attention of the media.

He later clarified his comments via his Twitter page saying, “I’m reading a lot of reports coming out about my comments re: the Olympics and compensation. And I want to clear this up personally…I responded 2 a specific question asked by a reporter on my thoughts of Olympians being paid. I never asked to be paid to PLAY. What I was referencing is there is a lot of Olympic business that happens that athletes are not a part of – and it’s a complicated issue.

“BUT my love 4 the game & pride 4 USA motivates me more than any $$$ amount. I repped my country in 2004 when we won the bronze medal and……stood proudly to receive our gold medal in 2008 in Beijing. It’s always been an honor for me to be a part of the USA Olympic family……and I’m looking forward to doing it again in London this summer.”

Leave a Reply

